Concerns are increasing for the future of rural Post Offices, as it's emerged that over 100 offices could close under a retirement scheme brokered as part of an agreement between An Post and the Postmasters Union.

It's emerged that An Post has received applications from 110 Post Offices across the country expressing interest in a voluntary retirement package.

The leaked list of 110 post offices includes 12 in Co Mayo , 3 in Co Roscommon and 10 in Co Galway.

The Mayo Post Offices on the list are Ballindine, Ballyglass, Belcarra, Carrowmore Lacken, Cross, Doocastle, Finny, Geesala, Hollymount, Kilmaine, Partree and Scardaun.

The Roscommon Post office on the list are Loughlynn, Granlahan and Knockvicar- near Boyle.

It's understood that An Post will assess the applications, and determine where retirements can be facilitated, and their transactions consolidated to other local Post Offices.

It was confirmed earlier this week that Geesala Post Office is remaining open, even though it's on this list, and in other villages, the Post Office service may be taken over by another person or business.

However, Ballindine Post office - near Claremorris - is due to close its doors tomorrow week 10th August.

Ballindine is a busy village, located on the N17 Sligo to Galway road, and Midwest Radio's News editor Teresa O'Malley was there this morning where locals outlined their shock and disappointment that the Post Office is closing.


Latest News